Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Louisiana, Diocese of 

The Diocese of Louisiana was organized on Apr. 28, 1838, at Christ Church, New Orleans. Philander Chase (1775-1852) organized Christ Church, New Orleans, after a group of Protestants in New Orleans asked Bishop Benjamin Moore in 1805 to send a member of the clergy to start a church. The 1979 General Convention voted to divide the diocese. The continuing Diocese of Louisiana includes the following parishes: Ascension, Assumption, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Pointe Coupee, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Mary, the southeast portion of St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Washington, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana. On May 18, 1891, Christ Church, New Orleans, was set apart as Christ Church Cathedral. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top