Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
New York, Diocese of 

Organized on June 22, 1785, at St. Paul's Chapel, New York City. In 1838 it was divided when the Diocese of Western New York was established. It was the first diocese in the Episcopal Church to be divided. The Diocese of New York was divided again in 1868 when the Diocese of Long Island was established. The Diocese of New York includes the following counties: Bronx, Duchess, New York, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester. The Cathedral of St. John the Divine, New York, was incorporated on Apr. 16, 1873, and the cornerstone of the building was laid on Dec. 27, 1892. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top