Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
North Carolina, Diocese of 

This diocese was organized at New Bern on Apr. 24, 1817. It joined the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Confederate States of America on May 16, 1862, and rejoined the Episcopal Church on Sept. 15, 1865. It was divided by the General Conventions of 1883 and 1895. It includes the following counties: Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Mecklenberg, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Rockingham, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surrey, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top