Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Northwest, Missionary District of the 

The 1859 General Convention passed "That all those portions of our country, North of a line running along the Northern boundary of the Cherokee country and New Mexico, until it reaches the Diocese of California, not yet organized into Dioceses, or included in Missionary districts, be within the Jurisdiction of the Missionary Bishop of the Northwest." It was composed of the following states: Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colorado, Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming. Joseph Cruikshank Talbot was consecrated missionary bishop on Oct. 21, 1859. He served until Aug. 23, 1865, when he resigned to become Assistant Bishop of Indiana. Talbot was the only Missionary Bishop of the Northwest. He referred to himself as the "Bishop of All Outdoors." See Talbot, Joseph Cruikshank. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top