Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Southeast Florida, Diocese of 

The 1969 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of South Florida into three dioceses. One of the three dioceses had the temporary name of the East Coast Diocese of Florida, but at the primary convention at Holy Trinity Church, West Palm Beach, Oct. 8, 1969, the name was changed to the Diocese of Southeast Florida. It includes five counties: Briarwood, Dade, Martin, Monroe, Palm Beach, and one parish in Hendry County. On Mar. 29, 1970, Trinity Church, Miami, was set apart as Trinity Cathedral. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top