Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Southern Ohio, Diocese of 

The 1874 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of Ohio. The primary convention of the Diocese of Southern Ohio was held at Trinity Church, Columbus, Jan. 13, 1875. It includes the following counties: Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Drake, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Greene, Guernsey, Hamilton, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Licking, Madison, Meigs, Miami, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, Warren, and Washington. On Apr. 4, 1904, St. Paul's Church, Cincinnati, became St. Paul's Cathedral. On May 22, 1940, the diocesan convention declared St. Paul's Cathedral to be "defunct and extinct." Christ Church, Cincinnati, was set apart as Christ Church Cathedral on Feb. 24, 1993, and it was dedicated on May 29, 1993. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top