Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Southern Philippines, Diocese of 

The 1901 General Convention established the Missionary District of the Philippines. In 1973 the Missionary District of the Philippines was divided into three missionary districts. One of these was the Southern Philippines Missionary District. In 1985 it became the Diocese of the Southern Philippines. In July 1988 the House of Bishops voted to release the Philippine Episcopal Church to form a new province. On May 1, 1990, the Philippine Episcopal Church became autonomous as the Twenty-Eighth Province of the Anglican Communion. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top