Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Southern Virginia, Diocese of 

The 1892 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of Virginia. The new diocese was the Diocese of Southern Virginia. It held its primary convention at St. Paul's Church, Lynchburg. The 1919 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of Southern Virginia. It includes the following counties: Accomac, Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Craig, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Elizabeth City, Greeneville, Halifax, Henry, Highland, Isle of Wight, James City, Lunenberg, Mecklenberg, Nansemond, Northampton, Norfolk, Nottaway, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Princess Anne, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, Warwick, and York. The Diocese does not have a cathedral. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top