Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Southwest Florida, Diocese of 

The General Convention of 1969 voted to divide the Diocese of Florida into three dioceses. One of the new dioceses was known as the Gulf Coast Diocese of Florida. It included the following counties: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, and part of Hendry. The primary convention of this diocese was held at North Redington Beach, Oct. 16, 1969. At that convention the name was changed to the Diocese of Southwest Florida. On Nov. 18, 1969, St. Peter's Church, St. Petersburg, was set apart as St. Peter's Cathedral. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top