Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Southwestern Diocese 

The 1832 General Convention voted that the dioceses of Mississippi and Alabama, and the clergy and churches in the State of Louisiana could associate and join in the election of a bishop. Delegations from these three areas met at Christ Church, New Orleans, on Mar. 4-5, 1835, and formed the Southwestern Diocese. They elected Francis Lister Hawks their bishop. However, he declined the election. The plans for the Southwestern Diocese were never realized. The Southwestern Diocese was unrelated to the Missionary District of the Southwest, which was established by the 1859 General Convention and which included different territory. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top