Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
West Tennessee, Diocese of 

The 1982 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of Tennessee into three dioceses-Tennessee, East Tennessee, and West Tennessee. The Diocese of West Tennessee includes the following counties: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Shelby, Tipton, and Weakley. The primary convention of the diocese was held at St. Mary's Cathedral, Memphis, on Oct. 21-22, 1982. St. Mary's became the cathedral of the Diocese of Tennessee on Jan. 1, 1871, and continues as the cathedral of the Diocese of West Tennessee. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top