Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Norwich University 

It opened on Sept. 4, 1820, as a military academy at Norwich, Vermont. In 1834 it became Norwich University, and in 1866 moved to Northfield, Vermont. It had an Episcopal connection from 1850 to about 1880. Four Episcopal priests served as president: Edward Bourns (1801-1871), 1850-1865; Roger Strong Howard (1807-1880), 1869-1871; Malcolm Douglass (1825-1887), 1871-1875; and Josiah Swett (1814-1890), 1875-1876. The university is no longer in existence. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top