Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Esse, Bene Esse, Plene Esse 

The historic episcopate (as locally adapted) was identified by the Quadrilateral adopted by the House of Bishops in 1886 as one of the four parts of the sacred deposit of the faith that are "essential to the restoration of unity among the divided branches of Christendom." The historic episcopate was likewise identified by the Lambeth Conference of 1888 as one of the four bases for Home Reunion. See the Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral 1886, 1888 (BCP, pp. 876-878). The other three "essential" parts identified by the House of Bishops in 1886 were the Holy Scriptures of the OT and NT as the revealed Word of God; the Nicene Creed as the sufficient statement of Christian faith; and the two sacraments of Baptism and the Supper of the Lord, ministered with unfailing use of Christ's words of institution and of the elements ordained by Christ. The other three elements of the Lambeth Conference Resolution of 1888 are similar to the Chicago declaration, except that the Apostles' Creed as the Baptismal Symbol is mentioned along with the Nicene Creed as the sufficient statement of Christian faith. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top