Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return

Samuel Seabury, the first bishop of the Episcopal Church, was consecrated by nonjuring bishops of the Episcopal Church in Scotland on Nov. 14, 1784, in Aberdeen, Scotland. Seabury had been denied episcopal orders in England because he could not swear allegiance to the crown. The Scottish Episcopal Church is a nonjuring church to this day. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top