Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Community

‹‹ Return
Seven Deadly Sins 

These are traditionally pride, covetousness, lust, envy, gluttony, anger, and sloth. Since sin is faithlessness-the opposite of faith-it may be said that all sin is deadly rebellion against God. But it is difficult to conceive any sinful act that is not defined by one of these terms. In some sense this list is a categorization of sinful behavior described or implied by the decalogue (Ex 20:1-17 and Dt 5:6-21; see BCP, pp. 847-848) and by the great commandment given by Jesus in Matthew (22:34-40) concerning love for God and neighbor (see BCP, pp. 850-851). Pride has often been considered the chief and original sin since it beclouds all subsequent moral judgment. Covetousness, lust, envy, and gluttony may be considered self-destructive attempts to grasp what one seems to lack in order to achieve self-defined wholeness. In this the creature usurps the place of creator to become the author of one's own creation. Anger and sloth are thus the final terms of such fruitlessness-fury or despair at the failure of rebellion against God. 

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.
Click here to order...


Resources »



ECCC Annual Conference
1/22/2012  - 1/27/2012    - Camp McDowell, AL

NAECED Annual Meeting and Tapestries Conference
2/2/2012  - 2/4/2012    - New Orleans, LA

Why Serve 2012
6/6/2012  - 6/10/2012    - Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA

More Events

Back to Top