The Episcopal Church Welcomes You
» Site Map   » Questions    

« Return
Peacemakers honored for work in Jerusalem, Columbus
Fellowship will present Sayre Awards during General Convention

[Episcopal News Service] 

The Episcopal Peace Fellowship (EPF) will give its 2006 EPF John Nevin Sayre Award to the Rev. Canon Naim Ateek, director of the Sabeel Ecumenical Liberation Theology Center in Jerusalem, and Madeline Trichel, director of the Interfaith Peace Center in Columbus, Ohio.

EPF described Ateek is "a strong and tireless proponent of faith and nonviolence."

Ateek has said, "as a Christian, I know that the way of Christ is the way of nonviolence and, therefore, I condemn all forms of violence and terrorism whether coming from the government (of Israel) or from militant (Palestinian) groups."

In the 14 years that Ateek has directed the Sabeel Center, the network that supports the center’s work has grown exponentially. Ateek often lectures and goes on speaking tours to preach peace. He is also a prolific writer.

Ateek is a graduate of Church Divinity School of the Pacific (CDSP), the Episcopal seminary in Berkeley, California. He earned a doctor of ministry degree from San Francisco Theological Seminary and holds honorary doctor of divinity degrees from CDSP (1995) and the Episcopal Divinity School (2001), and a distinguished alumni award from San Francisco Seminary (2002).

Madeline Trichel has built the Columbus Interfaith Peace Center into a representative, inclusive, and multifaith group of leaders. Trichel teaches her message of nonviolent living in prison settings. She trains pre-school teachers in anti-bullying skills. She developed an annual Peace Camp that she has led for many summers. She has served as a consultant, resource person, and trainer with the doceses of Southern Ohio and Ohio and with the wider Episcopal Church. 

"Madeline is always growing with the times, offering her skills and services as they are needed," EPF said in its news release.
Trichel is a graduate of Centenary College in Shreveport, Louisiana, and received a master of arts degree with a concentration in folklore from the University of Kansas. Prior to her position with the Peace Center, she directed Food for Thought, a weekday lunch-time continuing education program taught at Ohio State University. She served as chair of the Episcopal Church’s Standing Commission on Anglican and International Peace with Justice Concerns as well as serving on the National Executive Council of EPF and the Episcopal Network for Economic Justice.

Both recipients will be present at the 75th General Convention June 13-21 in
Columbus, Ohio. They will receive their awards at the Episcopal Peace Fellowship/The Witness reception on June 17 at Trinity Episcopal Church (corner of Broad and 3rd on Capitol Square in Columbus).  Ateek will give the keynote address.

Previous Sayre Award honorees include Dr. Margaret Morgan Lawrence, the Rev. Seiichi Michael Yasutake, the Rev. Canon Brian J. Grieves, the Rev. Dr. John Maurice Gessell, the Rev. Thomas Lee Hayes,  Mrs. Catherine Wakefield Ward, Dr. Paul L. Ward, the Rt. Rev. Coleman McGehee, Dr. Rosa Cisneros, the Rev. Charles Radford Lawrence and the Rt. Rev. Daniel Corrigan.

John Nevin Sayre was instrumental in founding EPF in 1939 and was a founding member of the Fellowship of Reconciliation 24 years earlier. Sayre provided EPF with guidance for its own first 25 years.