Mission Center: The Episcopal Church: Partnerships

Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht

The Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht consist of several national churches in Europe, located in the Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, the Czech Republic and Poland.  These churches could not accept the definition of papal infallibility of the first Vatican Council in 1870.  The Episcopal Church entered into full communion with the Old Catholic Churches of th eUnion of Utrecht on the basis of the Bonn Agreement in 1934.  Included in this full communion arrangement was the Polish National Catholic Chruch (PNCC), which was a member of the Union of Utrecht until 2003.  The PNCC terminated its relationship of full communion with the Episcopal Church in 1978 over women's ordination.

Anglican-Old Catholic Communiques
The Anglican Old Catholic International Co-ordinating Council (AOCICC) meets regularly under the co-chairmanship of the Right Revd Jonathan Gledhill, Bishop of Lichfield, and the Right Revd Dr Jan-Lambert Wirix-Speetjens, Bishop of Haarlem.

Old Catholic Churches in Communion with Utrecht

Background on the Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht

Project Canterbury Old Catholic Resources Online
There are three groups of canonical Old Catholics: 1) Those of the diocese of Utrecht in the Netherlands, out of communion with the Roman see since the eighteenth century; 2) Communities in Germany, Switzerland, Austria and the Czech Republic which opposed the Roman Catholic dogma of Papal Infallibility as promulgated at the First Vatican Council; and 3) Polish National Catholics in the United States, Canada and Poland who removed themselves from obedience to the Roman Catholic Church from 1895.


Resources »

Prayers of the People for ELCA 10th Anniversary Full Communion Celebration
General Convention 2009 Statement on Interreligious Relations
NCC Statement on Ramadan and Cordoba House
Guidelines for Confirmation and Reception

More Events

Back to Top