Mission Center: Mission Leadership

The Board For Transition Ministry

The Board for the Office for Transition Ministry (OTM) is established by General Convention in accordance with Canon III.32. It consists of twelve members: four bishops, four presbyters or deacons, and four lay persons. The bishops are appointed by the Presiding Bishop and the other clergy and lay persons are appointed by the President of the House of Deputies. All appointments are subject to confirmation by General Convention. Staff support is provided to the Board by the OTM staff. The canonical duties of the Board are:

  • To oversee the Office for Transition Ministry.
  • To study the deployment needs and trends in the Episcopal Church and in other Christian bodies.
  • To issue and distribute such reports and information concerning deployment as it deems helpful to the Church.
  • To cooperate with other Boards, Commissions, and Agencies which are concerned with ministry, and particularly with the Executive Council.
  • To report on its work and the work of the Office for Transition Ministry at each regular meeting of the General Convention.
  • To report to the Executive Council at regular intervals as a part of its accountability to the Council for the funding which the Office for Transition Ministry receives.
  • To work in cooperation with the Church Center Staff.
  • To fulfill other responsibilities assigned to it by the General Convention.

  • The Board For Transition Ministry
  • The Rt. Rev. Laura Ahrens
    Diocese of Connecticut
    Province I (Term: 2012)
    Hartford, CT
    860-233-4481
    lahrens@ctdiocese.org
  • The Rt. Rev. Barry L. Beisner - CHAIR
    Diocese of Northern California
    Province VIII (Term: 2012)
    Sacramento, CA
    916-442-6918
    bishopblb@norcalepiscopal.org
  • Ms. Carter Echols (Vice Chair)
    Diocese of Washington
    Province III (Term: 2012)
    Arlington, VA
    202-688-1079
    cechols@bread.org
  • The Rt. Rev. Scott Hayashi
    Diocese of Utah
    Province VIII (Term: 2015)
    Salt Lake City, UT
    801-322-4131
    shayashi@episcopal-ut.org
  • The Rev. Canon Gregory Jacobs
    Diocese of Newark
    Province II (2012)
    Newark, NJ
    973-430-9915
    gjacobs@dioceseofnewark.org
  • The Rev. Canon Jose McLoughlin
    Diocese of Oklahoma
    Province VII (2015)
    Oklahoma City, OK
    405-232-4820
    jmcloughlin@episcopaloklahoma.org
  • The Rev. Canon Ann Normand
    Diocese of Texas
    Province VII
    Houston, TX
    713-520-6444
    anormand@epicenter.org
  • Canon Karen Olson
    Diocese of Minnesota
    Province VI (2015)
    Minneapolis, MN
    612-870-3312
    karen.o@episcopalmn.org
  • The Rev. Canon Anne Reed
    Diocese of Southern Ohio
    ProvinceV
    Cincinnati, OH
    800-582-1712
    areed@diosohio.org
  • Ms. Lindsay Ryland - TREASURER
    Diocese of Virginia
    Province III (2012)
    Richmond, VA
    800-346-2373
    lryland@thediocese.net
  • Ms. Lynn Schmissrauter
    Diocese of East Tennessee (2015
    423-517-0027
    lynnthink@gmail.com
  • The Rt. Rev. Kirk S. Smith
    Diocese of Arizona
    Province VIII (Term: 2012)
    Phoenix, AZ
    602-254-0976
    bishop@azdiocese.org
  • The Rev. Victoria Duncan (Ex Officio)
    Episcopal Church Center
    Office for Transition Ministry
    New York, NY
    212-922-5251
    vduncan@episcopalchurch.org
  • The Rev. Margaret Rose (Ex Officio)
    Episcopal Church Center
    Mission Center
    212-922-5354
    mrose@episcopalchurch.org

Back to Top